Sometimes the River Laughs

After two forays at what should be an excellent site to metal detect in a river swimming hole, I can tell you this:

It’s either feast or famine

A guy who goes by the name of Hiluxyota on YouTube is feasting, and has been for roughly ten days or so. This detectorist found a section of river chock full of gold signet rings and old coins, among other things. He’s a very nice guy to boot, too, who does his research. His channel can be found here:            https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4yLniERekWqAXh0NwOqaqw

His success, along with that of a few other detectorists I subscribe to, inspired me to give river metal detecting a try. I’ve done it three times so far, the third being a boulder-infested stream, with little success.

That’s the famine part.

That’s OK, though. I could stand to miss a few meals, and I’m far from finished with the location I’ve chosen. So far I’ve recovered probably three bucks in coinage, all newer stuff, a bunch of .22 caliber bullets, fishing lures, lead sinkers, the usual unidentifiable metals, a rail spike…but no jewelry worth saving.

I’ve been upstream and downstream. I’ll need to make a trip to a sporting goods store for a diving mask to check the bottom of the rope swing area, but I’m holding off on that till after Labor Day in order to give potential depositors one last chance at losing that ring or bracelet. Aside from that, there’s a pretty large picnic area waiting to be harvested.

Land metal detecting, which apparently is what I do best. I’ll scan that acreage by the river….

…as I listen to the river laugh at me.

 

Author: timteamohio

Retired cop embarking on new adventures, seeking to recover the history beneath us.

Leave a Reply

