Headed for an Old Canoe Livery

Tomorrow, bright and early, I’ll arise; I’ll fix my extra-large cup of Tim Horton’s black gold, which is an absolute must to start my day. I’ll have my toasted Wheat Thins with peanut butter and honey ( right after my 15-unit injection of Humalog ) and then my customary cup of yogurt.

I’ll don my oldest pair of jeans shorts, socks and beat-up tennis shoes to go along with a black T-shirt with cutoff sleeves, then brush my teeth and take all 7 of my once-a-day pills ( 6 are prescription, the other is a multi-vitamin specially formulated for us middle-aged men ). I’ll kiss my red-headed angel of a wife goodbye…

….and then I’ll be off for another water metal detecting adventure.

This time I’m headed for a spot we used to canoe from when I was a young teen. Our church youth group would embark on canoe trips at least twice a summer, and it was always great fun…especially if I had the opportunity to share a canoe with Becky Ellington, our pastor’s stunningly beautiful daughter. We’d always been flirty but, alas, eventually her father ended up transferring to a larger church up near Cleveland somewhere. I never saw or heard from her again after that.

Since those days long ago ( back in the early 70s ) thousands upon thousands of canoeists have traveled that particular stretch of watertway. Some canoeists aren’t as adept at navigating the waters as are others, and hundreds…if not thousands…have overturned their crafts, meaning items were lost to the river. There’s no telling how many undiscovered treasures lie on the bottom of the Black Fork River from those days til now.

Hopefully, Ill find some of them in the morning.

Author: timteamohio

Retired cop embarking on new adventures, seeking to recover the history beneath us.

Leave a Reply

