Some Things Can’t Be Explained

You’re out metal detecting, enjoying the outdoors and the hobby you love so much. It’s not your best hunt by far, but you’ve recovered a few cool things. You start digging an odd tone, mainly because you want to find out what it is.

And then it happens.

‘What IS this thing?’

That is exactly what happened to me yesterday. I decided to visit South Park again, an area that was once considered the edge of town back in the early 1800s, and was so popular that it had its own trolley stop.

I’d made some very nice finds there: an 1865 2 cent piece, Indian head pennies, a Costa Rican 5 centavos coin, two rings, square nails, an undated V nickle…but this day, I would find a foreign coin…er, coins… one being dated 1810.

South Park has been pounded hard over the years, several times by me even after being told by another local detectorist it was ‘hunted out’. Still it produces, though recently not so much.

Today I’d try a different tactic.

It’s started getting colder during overnight hours here in north central Ohio, causing some of the green brush and viny plants to start withering…mainly my nemesis, poison ivy. If I even look at it, I get it, so I avoid wooded areas with even moderate undergrowth during warmer months. That’s OK, though, because I love hunting in creeks and rivers when it’s hot outside. All that considered, I’d hunt in the park’s woods.

On the sides of the hills in the woods.

Why? Because very, very few detectorists will hunt hillsides with even a moderate slope to them. Being that the park has been so heavily hunted, I figured I might have some luck…and it paid off.

The first find, as well as several others, couldn’t be readily identified because of dirt and lack of sunlight. As the leaves fall the latter will take care of itself; plus, I hadn’t grabbed my cleaning brush ( toothbrush ) out of my truck before entering the woods. Most of my recoveries would remain unknown until I got them back home and cleaned.

Three more foreign coins, an Arabic or Indian, a Prussian and one from Norway, were brought to the surface, with the German/Prussian dated 1810. I was elated to say the least! My hunt was somewhat abbreviated due to my oldest stepson calling to say he was locked out of the house, neccessitating the need for me to leave, but still successful. I’ll be going back there soon; pics of the finds are at the bottom of the page.

You can watch the Youtube video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CCkT5Ck46T8

I just wish someone could have gotten some video footage of my 25-foot slide down that steep, bare embankment I attempted to climb. I was reminded, once again, that I’m not as young as my mind thinks I am.

Author: timteamohio

Retired cop embarking on new adventures, seeking to recover the history beneath us.

Leave a Reply

