Domestic stuff Saturday, but…

We all know that balancing family time with our metal detecting addiction can sometimes get tricky; luckily for me, my wife is a red-headed angel. She doesn’t mind if I have to scratch the itch on her days off. However…

My youngest stepson is getting married in two weeks. I have to go shopping for a new suit tomorrow morning. Now, I’m not the world’s most patient shopper; I know exactly what I want, go in, buy it and leave. Unfortunately, my wife isn’t on the same page as me when it comes to retail browsing, so tomorrow will be…somewhat trying.

She broke the news this morning before she left for work. She also added that she knew I’d want to go detecting, so I’m headed out as soon as we get home.

I’ll be headed back to South Park, into the woody hills and ravines. I went there twice this past week; the first day produced 3 foreign coins, the oldest a German pfennig dated 1810. Yesterday’s hunt produced, among other things, an 1862 Belgian 10 centimes coin and a 1920 Merc, the latter being seven inches down under a pine tree root. Have I said recently how much I love my AT Pro, despite the control box issues this past summer?

I’m not expecting another haul such as this past week, but you never know.

I just hope my wife understands when I tell her I want the first suit I try on….

You can watch the video of my latest hunt here:

Author: timteamohio

Retired cop embarking on new adventures, seeking to recover the history beneath us.

Leave a Reply

