The Abandoned Farm

Hey folks!

My last post was about our detecting days winding down here in northern Ohio. Winter is upon us, as it snowed a week ago, and temps are averaging in the 40s during the day.Yesterday morning I ventured out at 0930; it was 35 degrees.

I had to.

I’d just gotten permission earlier in the week to metal detect an abandoned farm, the house having been built in 1910. Its fifty acres, about 1/4 of it woods, and as far as the owner knows it is virgin ground for detectorists. I had no problem obtaining permission, either, as the property owner has experienced vandalism from trespassers and welcomed the presence of a retired cop on his farmland.

I spent about 3 hours there Wednesday, when it was 48 degrees. The first targeted area was around the perimeter of the run-down structure, where I soon discovered that the house had once obviously been aluminum-sided, because there were scraps of the stuff everywhere in the ground.

It was aggravating, to say the least.

Nails dominated the spot where the front porch once stood, but those were easy to hear. I wanted the mid-to-high tones bangin’ on my brain through the headphones of my AT Pro, but that wouldn’t be the case there so I moved to the expansive back yard.

That area was tough going because the grass was much higher, causing me to swing my coil a good 4-5 inches off the ground. That may not seem like much to a non-hobbyist, but we all know the problem with that much elevation.

I DID unearth some pretty good stuff…though I still don’t know what most of it is. The old clock gear-wheel wasn’t too hard to figure out; those are fairly easy to identify. The other metal items, though, still have me baffled. Most of them were copper and relatively large, easy to detect even at eight inches down with the added five-inch coil height.

Yesterday I concentrated on the shorter grass in front of the house, especially along where the sidewalk once was, and was rewarded with several coins and a beer-related disk that was just identified this morning. I’m not going to describe or post pics of the items I recovered because I’ll post video on my Youtube channel, probably Monday or Tuesday. You can find Team Ohio Detector’s channel here:

youtube.com/channel/UC3EBhEhX8q4RZqdyWJx4Vaw

By the time I finished 4 hours later my fingers were getting numb, even with the thicker gloves I was wearing; the damp, light fog didn’t help either. Coffee was first on the agenda when I got home.

It was worth it, though, and I’ll be going back repeatedly…as long as the temps are above freezing.

The woods will have to wait, however, as deer gun season opens Monday.

I have a strong sense of self-preservation.

close-up-aerial

Aerial view of the farm

Author: timteamohio

Retired cop embarking on new adventures, seeking to recover the history beneath us.

Leave a Reply

