Saturday morning musings…

Yeah, so its twenty-six degrees outside my window here at Ram Field Ranch, with a light coating of snow on the ground. It’s been pretty much below freezing since last weekend; it was in the low 60s Saturday and Sunday, so I got out and hunted a bit at the abandoned farm I’ve been hitting. No really outstanding finds aside from a large cent recovered from the back yard, and it was pretty toasted. I soaked it in olive oil for four days, brushed it very gently with a well-used toothbrush, prayed and then examined it under a magnifier and high-intensity light…no joy. Still couldn’t read any sort of a date, but the Liberty head is visible. I am going to gift the land owner with the coin; he’ll be happy with something from his land that is at the very least one hundred sixty years old. The man has been very accommodating, allowing me to hunt, to date, two of his seventeen farm properties. He’s the kind of land owner you want to meet, wishing all land owners were like this one.

But we know that’s never going to be the case.

*  *  *  *  *

Guilty. I fully confess. I have yet to clean my gear this winter because…well, we here in north central Ohio have had detectable weather until now. The ten-day forecast from the weather-guessers calls for highs in the mid-20s for the most part, with a measure of snow scattered about the period.

Looks like I’ll get to that task after all.

*  *  *  *  *

I drove approximately 20 miles to a small town a few days ago, en route to a Mom-and-Pop consignment shop in search of undiscovered treasure. I don’t know about you, but I can spend all day in places like that, especially when it’s too cold to detect and the ground is frozen. All day, as in until my lower back tells me to stop.

My red-headed angel tells me I need to realize I’m 60 and not twenty.

This town is a little bit Mayberry, a little bit tourist trap and a side of Amish thrown in for good measure. I love the place. They have a week-long fall festival where they shut down the main drag through town and fill it with rides, concession trailers and craftsman booths. My wife and I go every year; that’s how I found this shop, one that I’d never been in but always wanted to visit.

This was the day.

I wasn’t disappointed, either. There was all manner of collectibles, antiques, oddball items, tools, clothing, equipment and trinkets. Since I started reselling on eBay I’ve discovered that police and fire memorabilia move pretty well and this store had a little bit of those items. The two middle-aged ladies behind the counter were very friendly and accommodating, answering my questions and directing me to the items I sought. Though I didn’t find exactly what I was looking for, I found plenty of stock to peruse; I think I might have worn out my ‘what’s it worth?’ app in the process.

I found a couple of items I wanted to do further research on, so I left empty-handed this day.

But I’ll be back.

 

Author: timteamohio

Retired cop embarking on new adventures, seeking to recover the history beneath us.

Leave a Reply

