Research pays off

If you’re like me, we’re always keeping a lookout for potential target sites to metal detect. Whether we’re running errands around town or out driving the countryside, our heads are on a perpetual swivel looking for promising ground.

Yesterday I caught sight of two spots that, based on research after I got home, should yield some great finds.

One is on the west end of town, a spot that’s obscured by shrubbery, overgrowth and trees. I’d noticed it before; yesterday, though, I pulled into a nearby parking lot and jotted down the address. If you don’t already, keep a pocket notepad and pen in your glove box just for this purpose so you won’t forget when you eventually get home. I discovered, by searching the county auditor’s website, that this 4-acre property has a home that was built in 1829, though you wouldn’t know by looking at it; the auditor’s records show that it was remodeled in 1987. It is now abandoned, sitting empty.

The owner’s info for this property had a post office box for the address; enter the subscription service I use just for occasions such as this. Up popped the residential address for the property owner, who happens to live near my home. It’ll take some door-knocking but, based on the appearance and age of the target site, I am confident of gaining permission to hunt it.

The second spot was one I’d also noted in the past, wondering how old the small home was. It’s located north of the city in a little village crossroads, and it’s also vacant. Though the lot itself is less than a half acre, research showed the structure was built in 1865, the year the Civil War ended. Records also show the owner happens to be the son of a long-time acqaintance of mine, one I became friends with when I first began my law enforcement career back in 1979. Getting permission shouldn’t be a problem on that one.

Two more spots added to the list of target sites I keep on my laptop, a list that’s beginning to bulge with promising spots for the coming spring and summer.

Author: timteamohio

Retired cop embarking on new adventures, seeking to recover the history beneath us.

Leave a Reply

